On February 17, 1787, the founder of Charles Town, Charles Washington, executed a deed granting a lot to the Board of Trustees of the Charles Town Presbyterian Church. Charles Washington was paid 20 pounds for the lot, which was located in the western part of Charles Town.
In 1851 the congregation moved to the current location on East Washington Street. The present sanctuary was built and soon thereafter the manse was built next door for the Pastor and his family. As the church continued to experience growth, a chapel was added to the rear of the sanctuary for Christian Education. During the 1930’s another addition of an educational wing took place, and the chapel became a Fellowship Hall. In the 1960’s a final building program was undertaken, completing the present facility.
The church also expanded its presence in the county, offering services in Harpers Ferry; organizing a chapel in Halltown, which eventually developed into a separate congregation; and assuming responsibility for the Beulah Chapel near Rippon.
Charles Town Presbyterian Church is in the Presbytery of Shenandoah, and a congregation member of Presbyterian Church (U.S.A.) a Federal tax-exempt organization (see our homepage for the EIN). Learn more on the The History of the Presbyterian Church.